Twistedtexan's Weblog

A month of thanks

Posted on: November 7, 2012

Uh….looks like this one didn’t go out on time. Whoopsie!!!

 

 

I’ve been noticing the daily “Things/People I am thankful for” posts on Facebook and I sort of like the idea.  But instead of posting here daily, I think I’m going to post weekly because, well, I know myself and how often I remember to write on the blog.  ;)

Day 1:

I am thankful for the Hubbster.  We’ve been together for 18 years with many highs and lows, yet we still remain strong.  He is my best friend and always knows how to make me laugh.  He is a wonderful partner, companion, and father and I cannot imagine life without him.  Plus, he looks completely adorable in a bow-tie.

Day 2:

I am thankful for Little Miss Texan.  She has added so much to our lives – things that I didn’t even realize were missing until she arrived.  She is a constant joy with personality for days.  She is healthy, inquisitive, bright, and challenging.  We love her to bits and I am so thankful that she has completed our little family.

Day 3:

I am thankful for my friends.  I still find it funny how, now that I am in my mid-30′s, I have more friends than I did in high school or even college.  Y’all know who you are, and I am thankful for every last one of you;)

Day 4:

This one may be a bit unconventional, but I am thankful for the Internet.  Without it I wouldn’t be able to stay in touch with some of the folks I love the most.  My bestest girl J and I have still remained friends despite the fact that she’s in Australia and I’m in Texas.  Thanks to the wonder of the interwebs, we no longer have to rely on snail-mail.  (Been there, done that…thankyouverymuch!)  So yeah, today’s is a bit unconventional.  But I’m still thankful for the Internet.

Day 5:

I am thankful for my hobby.  Knitting has opened up so many doors for me.  It has allowed me to meet new people, it gives me an outlet for creativity, it gives me a sense of peace (At least when I’m not trying to p7tog with a splitty 8-ply yarn…because, y’all, that @#$! is bananas!).  I can create beautiful things to keep my family warm, create items of comfort for friends in need.  Knitting is powerful and it has definitely changed my life.

Day 6:

I am thankful for my work.  Even though at times it can be completely hectic, I still really love it.  I am lucky to be in a position to help surgical residents achieve their goals and move forward to becoming great surgeons.  I am lucky to have a supervisor who is really easy to work with, and also makes the job *fun*.  I look forward to our center’s upcoming renovations in the next year and moving forward to becoming a cutting-edge Surgical Simulation Center.  Exciting times are ahead!

Day 7:

I am thankful for the time that the Hubbster and I had with our mothers.  Both of us lost our mothers in 2010, a mere few months before Little Miss Texan arrived.  I’m sad that LMT will never know her grandmothers, but we’ll have lots of stories to share with her.

1 Response to "A month of thanks"

(love 834759375023842798347593874534)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

