Twistedtexan's Weblog

To knit or crochet: that is the question

Posted on: August 29, 2007

When I first started my love affair with yarn, I was a crocheter.  Period.  End of story.  When I picked up my first hook it just clicked.  But crochet quickly became frustrating, as it seemed like all of the “cool stuff” was being knitted.  I mean, seriously, who needs a crochet tissue box cover???  Tea cosy anyone??? 

But even with all the doilies and toilet seat covers, there’s still cool stuff that can be made with crochet.  Like take this shawl, for instance.  I created this for my bestest friend in the whole world.  (And I do mean WORLD.  The little bugger lives in Australia.)        

 swirly-jen-1-web.jpg                          

swirly-jen-2-web.jpg

The yarn is Blue Heron rayon metallic in Deep Water.  The design was inspired by one of the motifs found in The Crochet Stitch Bible by Betty Barnden.  The book is GREAT and a must-have for crocheters.  Now, I have to say that this shawl is way cooler than a tea cosy… even if it is, essentially, a bunch of doilies sewn together.  (But shhhhh….. we’ll just ignore that last little bit).

And because I less-than-three her and have been missing her like crazy lately, here is a photo of J and me atop The Big Pineapple. 

jen-kris-pineapple-1-web.jpg

psst! She’s the nutjob on the left. I’m the nutjob on the right.  🙂

1 Response to "To knit or crochet: that is the question"

Yay for the pair o’ nutjobs!!!!

I believe the nutjob on the left was wearing a hand-knitted sweater. 🙂

As for knit vs. crochet… I think the two can work together, and you’re lucky that you can do both with some skill. You know how jealous I am of your ability to amigurumize with your mad crochet skillz yo, inna hizzouse, etc.

Leave a Reply

