Twistedtexan's Weblog

Yarn galore (or otherwise known as yarn pr0n)!

Posted on: September 5, 2007

This weekend was a regular yarn extravaganza! On Saturday the Hubbster and I took a small detour to Spring which could only mean… TWISTED YARNS!  I have a serious love affair with the stuff they carry at TY.

For instance, I bought this yarn:

mama-lama-3-web.jpg

for the spiral boot sock pattern from Interweave Knits.  It is Mama Llama merino/tencel yarn in the sea colorway.  I had originally purchased some hot pink Cherry Tree Hill yarn for that pattern, but once I saw the blue Mama Llama yarn, I knew that they would be perfect for those socks!

I also purchased this:

schaefer-yarn-laurel-2-web.jpg

for my sister-in-law’s clapotis.  It is Schaefer Laurel in the Frida Kahlo colorway.  I love how the Schaefer yarn people created a series of yarns that are named after various “memorable women”.   They even attach a little bio with each skein of yarn.  So cool!  I absolutely cannot wait to cast on with this yarn, as I think it is gonna be a gorgeous clappy!

And get a load of this yarn, boys and girls. 

madeline-tosh-jen-yarn-web.jpg

This particular yarn is for my bestest friend, and it is the reason why I will forever remain her bestest friend in the entire world.  You see, she is currently obsessed with the combination of purple and lime green.  And like yours truly, she is also obsessed with making socks.  So, you can see why I’m the most awesomely awesome friend in the world.  Purple + lime green + sock yarn = one very happy best bud.  Yarn particulars are as follows Madeline Tosh merino sock yarn in plum tree.

And since it was a long weekend, I had time to knit up a birthday gift for my friend Rosario. I made 2 washcloths from Bernat Cottontots in the sweet cream colorway. One washcloth was a simple seed stitch, and the other was a quilted diamonds washcloth.  I placed the washcloths on a plate that I picked up at Target, added a couple of bars of soap from The Body Shop and VOILA!  A really great (and easy) birthday gift! 

rosario-gift-1-web.jpg

Happy Birthday, Rosario!

And as if that wasn’t enough, I also had some time to dye some yarn.  I had some yarn that came from an enormous Scottish wool sweater that J and I frogged while I was on holiday in Oz.  I think we ended up with about 8 skeins of this yarn, and we decided that it would be perfect to test our hand at dyeing with Kool-aid.  I think we only paid $4 bucks for the entire sweater, so if we ‘effed up some yarn, then it wouldn’t be a big loss.  So here’s a quick before and after of my dye attempt in Oz:

scotish-wool-undyed-1-web.jpgscotish-wool-dyed-1-web.jpg

before                       after (sorry for the weird “after” photo.  I’m too lazy to fix it.)

I decided that I liked it enough to dye the remaining yarn the same colors.  Now I have  4 skeins of yarn that I have dubbed “Aussie sunrise”.  🙂

Believe it or not, I also had time to complete ANOTHER knitting project over the weekend… but I can’t tell you about it.  It’s gonna be a surprise! 

3 Responses to "Yarn galore (or otherwise known as yarn pr0n)!"

Oooo… such lovely yarn. I especially like the Mama Llama – I love the light blue color. 🙂

OMG OMG OMG gimme yaaaaaaarn!!! 🙂

And Page will love the clappy – if she doesn’t, I’ll take it 🙂

[…] make the spiral boot socks from IK.  I’ll be using the Mama Llama sock yarn I bought a few months ago that have been mocking me from the stash pile.  “Ooh!  […]

Leave a Reply

