Twistedtexan's Weblog

I’m Stepping Out

Posted on: October 23, 2007

I have definitely stepped out of my comfort zone.  I’ve actually made an effort to join the “outside world” and meet other knitters!  This is a huge accomplishment for me, as I tend to be somewhat of a hermit.  I’m not going to lie – a lot of the time I can be pretty quiet and shy around people that I don’t know.  My Hubbster is always the boisterous and outgoing one.  So it was a HUGE step for me to voluntarily go out and meet new people.  (Ok… so the Hubbster had to give me a gentle nudge to get me out the door.  Whatevs.)

On Saturday I made a trip to Twisted Yarns, where I got to meet Janet.  She’s a part time employee at Twisted Yarns and a little bit of a yarn enabler.  (Hehe…. kidding.  Sort of.)  She gave me several suggestions for a good sock yarn for the Hubbster.  This is what I ended up with – one skein of Trekking pro-natura (superwash wool + bamboo = yum!)

trekking.jpg

I also came home with one skien of Madeline Tosh sock yarn… which required no helpful prodding from Janet.  I found this stuff all on my own.  How gorgeous is this?

madeline-tosh-home.jpg

The colorway is called “Home” but it somehow reminds me of the beach.  Dunno why.  😉  But the yarn is soft and squishy and I can’t wait to make a pair of socks with it!

And yesterday I attended my very first SnB – ever!  I met Kim through ravelry several weeks ago, and also ran into her at the Crazy Aunt Purl signing.  Kim was gracious enough to send me an invite to a local SnB group that meets at a coffee house every Monday.  Coffee + knitting?  Sounds like a winning combo!  So I sucked it up, went waaay out of my comfort zone, and went to meet this group last night.  And you wanna know what?  I HAD FUN!  The ladies (and one guy) were all super nice, funny, and great to chat with. 

Heh, who knew?  Knitting outside the home CAN be fun!  🙂

Next post: Socktoberfest 2007  progress report

P.S.  Be sure to check out Janet’s blog for her free leaf lace scarf pattern.  I got to see the scarf in person and it’s gorgeous!  🙂

Leave a Reply

