Twistedtexan's Weblog

Happy to see the back end of 2007

Posted on: December 17, 2007

2007 has been a monumentally BAD year for the Twisted household – quite possibly the worst on record.  Originally, I had a nice long (and much more eloquent) posting enumerating all the bad things that happened this year.  And then my computer ate it.  I just can’t be bothered to rewrite all of it over again, so here it is in a nutshell:

My hubby and I have been trying to start a family for nearly 2 years.  We found out that I was pregnant on February 4 of this year (my birthday).  Twelve weeks later I was in the hospital having a D&C done because our precious baby had passed away at 9 weeks.  Only (lucky me) my body continued to think it was still pregnant for 3 whole weeks – hence the D&C.  This left me completely devastated.  It took nearly 2 months for all of the hormones to work their way out of my system, leaving me a complete basketcase.   It wasn’t pretty.

Several months, and a spontaneous trip to Australia, later I finally began to feel like my “old self” again.  So we decided it was time to try and conceive again.  After only 3 months (Wow!  Three months!  Amazing!) I was pregnant again.  This time I made it 6 weeks before the complications started.  I was placed on hormones and bed rest.  Things looked ok for a while until I had my 8 week ultrasound.  We discovered I had something called “blighed ovum”.  My body thought I was pregnant, but a fetus never developed.  So now I’m looking at, yet another, D&C on Wednesday and fertility testing in the months to follow.

I’m not sure why I felt the need to post this on the internet for all the world to see.  Maybe I want to let other women with fertility issues (knitters and non-knitters alike) know that they’re not alone?  Maybe I needed to convince myself, instead, that I am not alone in this?  Who the hell knows?  I sure don’t.  

All I know is that I am ready for the end of 2007.  I look forward to the coming year.  A fresh start.  New beginnings, and all that jazz…   

7 Responses to "Happy to see the back end of 2007"

I’ve let loose with a string of expletives on your behalf. Now I’m ready to say how very, very sorry I am for your loss.

Let’s get this year the hell over with, ‘k?

I too am very sorry for your loss and the really crappy year this has been for you and Mr. Twisted Texan. I miscarried the same way you did — twice. It’s unsettling to have to go through a D&C because like you said, your body is believing it’s pregnant and the hormonal nosedive after the D&C is nothing short of horrendous. You are not alone. I’m thinking about you and wishing you a phenomenal 2008.

So sorry about your troubles. Having gone through multiple miscarriage myself, I truly understand your pain. There are other people out there who can take your journey with you, and know that there is a way out of this horrible tunnel. It may not be what you envisioned originally, but you will get there. I hope you have a better 2008.

You know I lubyoo kiddo.

Kristen, I did not know and I’m so sorry…hope I can hug you again as soon as possible…love

Just wanted to say I’ve been where you’ve been…fourth time I got a son! We probably won’t try again, but who knows? I had D&Cs for the first three, because my body just didn’t get the hint, and kept thinking it was pregnant for no damn good reason. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

