Twistedtexan's Weblog

Excuse Me, I Believe You Have My Stapler

Posted on: January 19, 2008

So this is how I’m spending the beginning of a glorious 3 day weekend:

champagne-web.jpg

I am having a celebratory glass of champagne… or two or…. 

What am I celebrating?  Surviving a completely hellish 2 weeks of work.  THAT is what I’m celebrating.  😉  I’ve been having the kind of week(s) where you get to work, hit it full on – top speed, and before you know it it’s time to go.  You look down at your desk and you realize… “I really didn’t get as much done as I thought”.  And the work keep piling up.  And you keep spinning your wheels.  Suddenly you’re wishing to bang your head on the desk until you’re comatose.  Ugh.   I say instead, bring on the booze!  

And since it’s a 3 day weekend, I’ll actually get some knitting done.  Not that I haven’t been knitting.  Just not as much as I’d like to.  Here’s a quickie progress report:

ryan-scarf-web.jpg

The “Uncle Sanders” scarf is nearly done.  I reckon 2 or 3 more pattern repeats and I can call it a day.  I’ll be giving it a nice bath in some Soak (Aquae scent.  Yum!) and then it’s off to the spare bed to be blocked.  Hoboy does that bad boy need a good blocking…. as if you couldn’t tell from the photo.  😉

There have also been socks.  Er, sock rather.  I started some basic (boring) toe up socks for the Hubbster as a “thank you for building me a swift” present.  The “boring” was his choice… not mine.  I was ordered to make some “manly” socks.  No frills, no fuss. 

cake-socks-not-fuzzy-1-web.jpg

Pre-champagne photo

fuzzy-drunk-sock-web.jpg

Post champagne photo

The yarn is the Zitron Trekking Pro Natura.  It has some bamboo in it, which feels really nice.  The Hubbster is also pretty pleased with how it feels on his foot.  Imagine, this will be his very first pair of hand-knit socks!  What a lucky boy!

Finally, I wanted to post a quick picture of a gift I received in the mail a couple of weeks ago.   Mama llama and I have been chatting back and forth on Ravelry for a while, and she found out from one of my blog posts about my miscarriages.  So she sent me a very sweet message and asked for my address.  THIS is what I found in my mailbox shortly after:

mama-llama-cashmere-web.jpg

100% cashmere Mama llama yarn.  Now, if y’all have been reading my blog at all, you know that I am just STOOPID about Mama llama yarns.  I heart them like nobody’s business.  So imagine the amount of “squee-ing” that went on when I opened that envelope.  It is quite possibly some of the softest yarn I have petted – EVER!  She also included a lacy scarf pattern with it.  The ol’ birthday is coming up soon (and guess who I share a birthday with??  None other than Mama llama herself!) and I’m hoping to convince the Hubbster for a membership to the Mama llama fiber club.  🙂

Enough blather for now.  It’s time for me to go enjoy my weekend! 

Peace out!   

4 Responses to "Excuse Me, I Believe You Have My Stapler"

Sounds lovely and full of good news! Hope you’re enjoying the weekend!

Dear birthday fairy – please gimme a box of Chips Ahoy and a tub of Betty Crocker dark chocolate icing… and then back away slowly.

🙂

Y’know, my boss actually keeps beer in the mini-fridge in his office, for just such occasions. I can’t make this stuff up. Of course, me+beer+creative=sudden drop in client base, so…. That and it’s usually the cheap stuff. Guy drives a BMW but drinks Pabst Blue Ribbon. Yeesh.

I see you and I are about neck-and-neck in the great Bigfoot Sock Race. How have I coped with my apparent lack of progress? I cast on for a hat.

I love the cable on the scarf! Can’t wait to see more of it!!!

Leave a Reply

