Twistedtexan's Weblog

I should have had a V8

Posted on: February 13, 2008

Over the weekend I started another pair of socks.  These are part of the memorial KAL on Ravelry for Gigi Silva – designer of socks, founder of Socktopia, and Monkey Toes.

kaylee-sock.jpg

  • Pattern: Kaylee
  • Yarn: Knit Picks Essential Tweed (in purple for lupus awareness)
  • Needles: 2.25 mm

I must admit, I’ve been having some “issues” with this sock.  First, I was having difficulty figuring out how to do row 5. 

What?  Me?  Having trouble deciphering a sock pattern?  Yeah… you can stop your dirty snickering right now.

Thankfully Kemtee bailed me out and sent me an idiot-proof pictorial “how-to”.  After looking at the pics I had a quick V8 moment, slapped myself on the forehead while simultaneously exclaiming “D’OH!” and started trucking right along on the sock. 

So all should be well with the world, yesno?  Uh… maybe no.  I had to frog my sock.  Yep.  You heard me.  Rib… sob… Rip… sob…  I took it along to my Monday night SnB and started having some major splitting issues with the yarn.  Has anyone else had splitty problems with their Knit Picks Essential Tweed?  Enquiring minds want to know!  Well, this “splittiness” caused me to lose some of the lovely lace pattern and the heel wasn’t turning out so hot either.  So I have decided to frog the sock and start a new one with the second ball of tweed I’ve got in my stash.  Let’s hope this one goes better.  😉

2 Responses to "I should have had a V8"

I hate when yarn and pattern won’t play nice together.

Creators of splitty yarn should be shot.

(Or forced to knit with it. Whichever. I ain’t picky.)

Sorry about the trip to the pond, sweetie.

Leave a Reply

