Twistedtexan's Weblog

Hold on to your hats!

Posted on: April 6, 2008

I have some knitting progress to report!  🙂

 

Firstly, here’s my first go-round with knitting 2 socks on 2 circs:

Noro socks on 2 circs!

You can see that Zipper is very interested in my fraternal socks.  I honestly couldn’t be bothered with winding 2 identical balls of yarn.  Besides, I think that it gives me “character”.

  • Yarn:  Noro Kureyon Sock in colorway s149
  • Needles: 2 harmony wood circs (2.5 mm, 16″ and 24″)
  • Pattern:  Just your basic sock recipe

 

I had a lot of issues with these socks.  Firstly, I’ve come do decide that I much prefer knitting my socks on dpns.  Nothing against circulars, mind you.  I’ve just found that I’m more comfortable (and quicker!!!) juggling 5 dpns than I am trying to manage 2 measly circs.  Will I ever knit socks on 2 circs again?  Probably.   But not anytime soon.   😉

My other big issue was the yarn.  What can I say about the Kureyon sock yarn?  I can say that it’s “crunchy”.  I can say that it hurt my hands.  I can also say that it broke no less than 3 times while I was knitting these socks.  I think all of this is a shame, because their colorways are so incredibly beautiful.

 

So, in order to recover from the trauma of Noro-socks-on-2-circs, I have started another project.

 

  • Pattern: Leaf Lace Scarf by Janet D. Russell (aka TwistedKnitter on Ravelry)
  • Neeles: 3.5 mm (US 4)
  • Yarn: mmmmmalabrigo yarn lace in purple mystery

So far I have loved every single minute of knitting this project.  The pattern is very well written and easy to follow.  And, y’all, mmmalabrigo is the POLAR OPPOSITE of Kureyon Sock.  It is some damn fine yarn!   No wonder people are addicted to it.  😉

 

So that’s what I’ve been up to, folks.  In the immortal words of Coach P….

More later  😉

 

5 Responses to "Hold on to your hats!"

YAY for dpns 🙂 . I haven’t using circulars to make socks, but considering I don’t like to use them to make hats, that’s not surprising. Cool from trying something different!

And I’m drooling over that scarf – first, ’cause I love that blue color and even it it’s early stage, the lace pattern is looking lovely in that yarn. *does a double take* Malabrigo makes lace yarn? :-O Kewl!

Enjoy your week!!!

D’oh! I’m sorry to hear about your bad Kureyon sock experience! I think they look fabulous though and I *heart* fraternal socks. You should get a medal for finishing both socks though – if I had the same experience (breakage, hard on my hands), no second sock would have been knit! LOL!

And thank you for the kind words about my scarf pattern! I am so glad you are enjoying it. You chose a wonderful color – and didn’t I remember you getting TWO of them? 😉

Those socks came out so cute! 😀 I’m nearly finished with my first RPM sock, but yeah – it feels crunchy. I hope it softens with washing.

Also – what shoes are those? They’re kyoot!

I like the socks. The colorway is fab. Which is something from me ’cause I don’t have the Noro love. Sorry the yarn was such a pain in the a** to deal with.

But the scarf… (swoons)

That sucks about the Noro Sock yarn. I haven’t tried it mostly because I have some Silk Garden, and it seemed a bit crunchy too. They look great though. I like that they don’t quite match.

I’m a DPN girl too.

Leave a Reply

