Twistedtexan's Weblog

Looks like we’re gonna get wet

Posted on: August 4, 2008

Tropical storm Edouard looks like he’ll be heading our way within the next 24 hours.  Work will be dismissed at 3:00 pm this afternoon, and will resume again Wednesday morning.  Am I freaked out?  Heck no!  I see tomorrow as a potential free knitting day!  As long as I have a little bit of light, I’m gonna be a-ok.  

 

So what will you be working on during said storm?

 

Well, I am glad you asked!

waving lace sock 2 - web

Over the weekend, I started the waving lace socks from Interweave Knits Favorite Socks.  The yarn is Madeline Tosh in the “home” colorway – not usually my typical colors, but I am in love.  The yarn is nice and sproingy and I have a feeling that these socks are going to turn out just lovely.

 

I’m also still chugging away on the luna moth shawl.  I don’t have any updated photos because this guy has been hibernating around the house since July 2007. 

Yep.  2007.

I don’t know what keeps me from finishing this shawl.  The yarn is yummy, the pattern is gorgeous, yet I can’t seem to make myself sit down and work on it for large stretches of time.   I suppose I’ll just chalk it up to my knitting A.D.D.   😉

 

 

I also have a couple of FO’s to share with you.  I’ve been knitting baby stuff lately because practically everyone I know is procreating.   (Seriously… what is in the water, and where can I get some?)

The first is a sweater that I made for my God-kiddo, Emma.  I’ll be making a masculine version of this for her twin brother Lucas in the near future.

emma sweater 2 - web

  • Pattern: Presto Chango by Vallerie Wallis
  • Yarn:  Lion Brand Cotton-Ease in terracotta
  • Needles:  4.5 mm

I am pleased as punch at how this sweater turned out.  This was the first garment where I used the tubular cast-on successfully, and those little butterfly buttons that I found just do it for me.  They’re so stinking cute!  🙂

 

Also new to the arsenal of knitted babycrap is a simple bib – again, for Emma.  (Masculine version to follow.)

bib emma - web

  • Pattern:  Baby Bib ‘o Love from Mason-Dixon Knitting.
  • Yarn:  Good ol’ Sugar ‘n Cream
  • Needles:  eh… does it really matter?

I originally had envisioned embroidering some watermelon seeds on this bib.  But y’all?  Um, my skills are somewhat lacking.  I must have “embroidered” and ripped out half a dozen watermelon seeds before I gave up.  I’m surprised the bib held up to all that abuse.  I think my next line of defense might be sewing on a felted watermelon instead.  Or… I’ll just give it away as is. 

 

 

I suppose I should stop puttering around on the computer and get the lab “storm ready”.  Gotta go cover up all the computers, back up the data, and make sure all of our freezers are on their dedicated plugs.  You can only imagine how nasty a freezer full of samples can get if it loses power.  ICK. 

And to my fellow CLACKers, stay dry y’all!  See ya next Monday!

2 Responses to "Looks like we’re gonna get wet"

I saw that storm headed your way and uttered a few foul expletives on your behalf. Keep yer powder dry, kiddo.

Some lovely FOs!!

(And if I had any magic water, I’d definitely send it your way!)

OK, that Presto Change-o is SO DAMN CUTE.

I absolutely love the buttons.

Leave a Reply

