Twistedtexan's Weblog

Surviving Ike

Posted on: September 16, 2008

It’s hard for me to put into words – my experience with hurricane Ike.  On the one hand, I am feeling truly blessed because we escaped with only minor damage.  But on the other hand, I am reeling from watching the utter destruction of Galveston.  Many of my friends, co-workers have lost everything.  Others are still missing.  We are praying that it’s only because they have lost communication. 

 

I have spent the better part of a decade on the island of Galveston.  First, completing my undergrad studies at TAMUG, then going on to work at UTMB.  I have so many fond memories there.  It pains me to know that the island as we know it is gone. 

So I’ll leave you with a few images I have taken over the past several days.  Part of them are from Humble (where we evacuated to) and part are from our home.

IMG_0338
IMG_0352

IMG_0349

IMG_0370

IMG_0364

IMG_0375

IMG_0386

IMG_0355

6 Responses to "Surviving Ike"

I am relieved to hear that you are OK–you’ve been in my prayers, which will continue as you and your community recover.

I’m just so happy you’re safe – I just can’t put it into words.

so glad to ‘see’ you. I was thinkin’ about ya.

I was wondering about you . . . I’m sure that it’s hard to deal with waiting to hear from everybody while communication is such an issue. We stayed put but finally left on Sunday.

(((HUGS)))

It kind of puts everything in perspective. Take care . . . sending thoughts your way for all your friends and loved ones in Galveston.

I am so glad you brand new house survived! I have been thinking about you a lot. I am really glad you guys evacuated to Humble…

I’m so glad you’re OK and things are relatively good. I hope your friends on the island are well. I’m so sorry about the devastation there.

Leave a Reply

