Twistedtexan's Weblog

“Hurrication”

Posted on: September 30, 2008

Yes, I am still officially on leave from work.  The newest estimates for us to return are sometime in mid-to-late October.  EESH.  So what have I been up to since Ike threw a little wrench in my regularly scheduled programming?  I have been knitting.  I’ve been doing lots and lots of knitting. 

Project Numero Uno:

IMG_0442

IMG_0437

 

I’m not 100% happy with these socks.  They look great off the foot, but once you put them on the lace pattern gets obscured by the colors of the yarn.  But, the recipient will love them and I guess that’s all that matters.

 

Project Numero Dos:

IMG_0482

Project Numero Tres:

IMG_0479

  • Pattern: Presto Chango.  I modified this pattern so that the front panel would be a bit more “manly”. 
  • Yarn: Lion Brand Vanna’s Choice (Of which I am not a fan.)
  • Needles:  5.0 mm
  • Recipient: Little baby Lucas

And finally, Project Numero Cuatro:

IMG_0597

My BFF and I have decided to do a Rivendell sock KAL!  I am using some KnitPicks Bare yarn that I dyed up with lemon-lime Kool-aid.  Rock the casbah!  The pattern is, erm, how can I put this nicely???  Challenging, to say the least, but I’m still having fun.

And as a side note, I recently purchased the pattern book that contains the Rivendell pattern.  It’s called The Eclectic Sole: Socks for Adventurous Knitters by Janel Laidman.  If you are a sock knitter, I highly recommend this book.  The patterns are stunning, and if you’re tired of hum-drum sock construction, this is the book for you.  I give it two thumbs up.  🙂

3 Responses to "“Hurrication”"

The book, she is on my wish list. Methinks me hubby needs a wee shove.

Not until mid October? That bites. The storms suck, but as daddy always said, the rebuilding is the hardest part.

And you were trying to get all of the Clackers to do this ‘challenging’ pattern eh?

Rivendell is fantastic! You seem to be clicking along with this challenging yet beautiful pattern. I bet the effort is well worth it.

Leave a Reply

