Twistedtexan's Weblog

Warning: Actual Knitting Content

Posted on: December 7, 2008

I think I’m going to dub this holiday season “The Year of The Fingerless Glove”.  I’m totally smitten with them.   Don’t believe me?  Take a gander.

Project 1: Christmas gift for “Uncle Sanderz”IMG_1037

  • Pattern:  Fetching from Knitty
  • Yarn:  Bernat Cashmere Natural Blends
  • Needles: 4.5 mm

Project 2:  Christmas gift for Vale
IMG_1038

Yep, those are my jammies in the background.  🙂

  • Pattern:  Fetching from Knitty
  • Yarn:  Noro silk garden lite
  • Needles: 3.75 mm
  • I’m not as happy with these.  The Noro needs a good soak, as it’s still a wee bit scratchy.  I’m hoping it will bloom a bit after a bath in some Soak.  Also, I encountered a couple of the “infamous Noro knots” which caused the colors to jog a lot.  I have to admit, even though the Noro colors are GORGEOUS, I am not an overly huge fan.  😦

    Project 3:  Mitts for my S-I-L
    IMG_1054

     IMG_1053

     Now I love these so much that they deserve two photos.

  • Pattern:  Maine Morning Mitts from The Knitter’s Book of Yarn by Clara Parkes
  • Yarn:  Manos del Uruguay Silk Blend
  • Needles: 3.75 mm
  • These gloves turned out the best by far.  They’re so incredibly warm and smooshy, and I’m having a hard time giving them up.  Thankfully I think I’ve got just enough yarn to squeeze out a pair for myself.  And the added bonus is that these gloves will match the Snood that I made for my S-I-L’s birthday.

     

     

    But what about socks?  You love knitting socks!  WHERE ARE THE SOCKS?!?

    Never fear, my fellow sock-junkies.  I have some of those too.  😉

    Project 4: Socks for my bro (aka Bruddersocken)
    IMG_1049

  • Pattern:  No pattern.  Just a generic stockinette toe-up.
  • Yarn:  Lion Brand Sock-Ease in toffee
  • Needles: 2.5 mm
  • Size:  You guessed it… Sasquatch.  He and The Hubbster wear the same size.
  • And finally, project 5:  Anti-Wrestlemania Socks
    IMG_1046

     

  • Pattern:  No pattern.  Just a generic stockinette toe-up.
  • Yarn:  Lang Jawoll Superwash  Solid (toe and heel) + Regia Color 4-ply (the stripey bits)
  • Needles: 2.25 mm
  • Size:  To fit my footsies.  Approx. US women’s 5.5 or 6
  • The yarn came from a “Sock Yarn From Your Stash” swap on Ravelry.  I traded some crunchy Noro sock yarn (again with the Noro disappointment) and got the Lang and Regia in return.  I definitely think I got the better end of the deal! 

    Oh, you’re wondering about the title?  Well… The Hubbster and my brother (of the Bruddersocken fame) got together this weekend to watch some old Wrestlemania DVDs.  (YAWN!)  Naturally, I couldn’t just whip out my brother’s sock and ruin the surprise.  So, I did what all obsessed good knitters do.  I cast on another project to keep me occupied.  🙂

     

     

     

     

     

    5 Responses to "Warning: Actual Knitting Content"

    Yay for knitting content! 🙂 Lotsa warm hand and footsies! 🙂 I like the ‘Anti-Wrestlemania’ socks. Love the striping 🙂

    The bind-offs on your Fetchings look great. Mind roll up so badly. I’m glad to see someone else smitten with fingerless gloves. I’m trying to psych myself up for some Endpaper Mitts. I think the stranding will make them double-warm, and the bind-off won’t be an issue for me on this one. I gotta get to work quick, though, because you know I won’t need them for too long!

    I *heart* your fingerless gloves! When I started knitting again a couple of years ago, I went wild with the fingerless gloves…naturally, now that’s its getting cold, I can’t find a matching pair. Yours make me want to sit down and make some more!

    Love the fingerless mitts. One day I’m going to give those a try.

    We’ll have you knitting before you know it!

    Leave a Reply

