Twistedtexan's Weblog

In Which A + B = UGH!

Posted on: June 14, 2009

So what happens when you pair a beautiful yarn with a beautiful pattern?  Usually you end up with something stunning, right?  In my case you end up with a big fat piece of humility pie.  Allow me to illustrate.

First, meet Spring Forward from Knitty. Beautiful pattern, right?

Now, meet Jester from Three Waters Farm:
IMG_1547IMG_1735

Gorgeous, ain’t it?

So we’ve got beautiful pattern (A) + beautiful yarn (B).  Here is where all logic goes awry.  Prepare yourself.  I introduce to you The Sock That Defies All Logic.
IMG_1733

Now do you see what I mean?  Beautiful pattern (A) + beautiful yarn (B) = UGH!!  And the worst part of it all is that I was in complete denial all the way down to the foot!  Oh yes folks, I knit the leg, heel flap, gussets, and part of the foot before I decided, “You know?  This yarn may not work very well with this pattern.  Hrm..”

Here’s another math equation for you.  Me + denial = StupidStupidStupid.  😉

So now I’m going to attempt to knit Kai-Mei (Ravelry link) with a skein of Malabrigo in velvet grapes.
IMG_1737

I’m hoping I can’t get into too much trouble with this one.  I’ll keep you posted.

3 Responses to "In Which A + B = UGH!"

Denial is a common trait among knitters. You are not alone. That happened to me with some Claudia’s Handpainted yarns when I tried to make some Monkeys with it. Kai-Mei seems to be a popular pattern from Cookie A’s book. Personally, I’m drawn to the ‘Sam’ pattern. 🙂 Happy Knitting!!

Oh, wow. I thought your socks were beautiful. Then I clicked the link and saw what you were expecting. Wow, the yarn really does kill the pattern. I’m sorry! They do still look really cool, though … as long as you lie about the pattern. They kind of look like Monkey socks to me.

The yarn is BEAUTIFUL! We should have a frogging party one night to experiment with frog-themed drinks while we all frog our fails.

Quoting Opus the Penguin from an early ’80s Bloom County strip:

“It wasn’t bad, but LORD… it wasn’t good.”

Let the yarn tell you what it wants to be. And all that other zen crap.

Leave a Reply

