Twistedtexan's Weblog

Completely Smitten

Posted on: June 21, 2009

I think I have some redemption after the whole “UGH” fiasco.

IMG_1776

  • Pattern:  Kai-Mei from Cookie A.’s Sock Innovation
  • Yarn:  MMMalabrigo sock yarn in the velvet grapes colorway
  • Needles:  2.5 mm harmony wood dpns

IMG_1777

IMG_1775

This is the first time I’ve used the Malabrigo sock yarn.  It’s soft, it’s squishy, and I love it.   My only complaint is that the skein was a major arse-pain to wind.  I also have two other colorways and found the same issue with them.  These are also the first Cookie A. socks I have ever knit, and I have to say that she’s pretty darn clever.  I’m surprised at how quickly these socks worked up!  I can’t wait to try out another pair. 

 

And for those of you who were wondering… Yes.  I’m still running.  I have succesfully kept up with it for 4 weeks.  Weight loss?  Brace yourselves.  I have lost a whopping 3 pounds.  I know,  you’re jealous.  I’m trying not to get discouraged, though.  I am exercising 4 days a week and watching what I’m eating.  It’s bound to come off sometime, right?  I’m keeping an exercise and food journal on fitday.com, and last week I even went so far as to take some measurements.  I’ll revisit them in a month and see how things are progressing. 

While the weight loss may be slow, I am making incredible improvements in stamina and speed.  It’s amazing that only 4 weeks ago I was barely able to run for 2 consecutive minutes.  This is what’s keeping me from giving up.  Because believe me – running your ass off and only losing 3 pounds can be a bit demoralizing.  

Now that the socks are done, what should I knit next?  Decisions, decisions.  Maybe I’ll get around to finishing the other shawl on the needles.  😉

3 Responses to "Completely Smitten"

Loverly socks, y’all. I don’t know what the woman does, but ALL of her patterns seem to totally fly off the needles. I’m finishing up sock 2 of Angee and can’t believe the speed. Even by my standards.

You may have only lost three pounds (ONLY?!!) but you’re probably building muscle mass. And you know as well as I do that muscle weighs more than fat. You’ll probably shock the @#$% out of yourself when you take measurements next month!!

It’s incredible.? I can’t wait to tackle another of?Cookie A.’s patterns.? I was so surprised how quickly they worked up.? I’m not sure when I’ll cast on another pair of socks, though.? Last night I started swatching for my Apres Surf Hoodie (finally) and July 4 marks the beginning of the Tour de Fleece.??

I’m trying not to get discouraged by the incredibly slooooow weight loss.? I know 1-1.5 lbs/week is normal, but hey… I’m impatient.? It’s not helping that my ankle is full of angry and I’m having to stay off it this week.?

Suck.

Beautiful socks! What infant child did you get to model them? heh heh. I’m just jealouz because I have skis for feet.

I’m in the same boat with weight. Running regularly and the pounds are being sooooo slooooooow, but I have more endurance than ever and love it! We’re doing the right thing so we’ll get there!

Leave a Reply

