Twistedtexan's Weblog

Back in the saddle!

Posted on: July 12, 2009

For the first time in 3 weeks (gasp!) I ran!  The ankle held up brilliantly, although I wish I could say the same about my endurance.  😉  Hopefully it won’t take very long to build it up again.  I had the Hubbster check the belt on the treadmill beforehand to make sure everything was snugged up, and I also swapped out shoes.  I think both things definitely helped. 

Yay!  I can stop being a slug again!

On that happy note, let’s have a little yarn pr0n shall we?  These are the newest kids to enter my stash:
IMG_1784IMG_1812IMG_1785IMG_1808IMG_1811IMG_1817

IMG_1782

Top to bottom (And I’m sorry for the wonky layout, but @#$! wordpress isn’t letting me line them up all nice and pretty.  I’m tired of fighting with it.)

  • Brown Sheep Lamb’s Pride Bulky – hand dyed by my pal Hannah.  She calls it “bomb pop”.  I won this skein at our CLACK WWKIPD celebration.  woot!
  • Malabrigo laceweight in the vermillion colorway.  I haven’t decided what it’s going to be yet, but it’ll definitely be a cardigan of some sort. 
  • Kauni Effektgarn EQ  –  I love these colors!  I’m thinking it’ll be a small blanket… unless I can procure one or two more skeins.  Then it’ll be a larger blanket. 
  • Schoppel Wolle: Zauberball –  Now, I’m really excited about this one.  It holds some pretty great potential.  It has a lot of the good qualities of Noro (single ply, wickedly awesome colors) without the crazy scratchiness. 
  • Manos Silky – I made my SIL some fingerless gloves using silky Manos and I had such a hard time giving them up.  Now I’ve got some Manos to make some for me!! 
  • Cherry Tree Hill – after the last couple of sock attempts, I’ve decided to go solid or semi-solid for a little while.  Especially since I want to knit more of Cookie A.’s fantastic patterns.
  • And last, but certainly NOT least… I bought my very first skein of Wollmeise.  A friend in the CLACK group is a Wollmeise-aholic and frequently stalks the internet for it.  She found several Yarnissima kits and bought extras so that some of us in the group could buy some from her if we wanted.  I’m interested to see how this stuff knits up, since everyone is so crazy about it.  I will say this about it.  The skein is really dense!  You could knock someone out with it! 

That’s it kiddos.  I’m wrapping it up and calling it a day.  Time to hit the shower.

 

  • Power jam song for the day:   Young Modern by Silverchair – My favorite band “Down Under”.  (Much to my girl J’s chagrin.)  😉
1 Response to "Back in the saddle!"

Ooo. I feel all dirty looking at someone else’s pr0n.

I often carry my lone skein of Wollmeise around as a self-defense weapon. You don’t need a permit, and even if you never actually hit someone with it, the mere threat of doing so renders you more of a danger in the would-be assailant’s eyes. ‘Cause he thinks you’re a nutcase and doesn’t want to mess with you.

Leave a Reply

