Twistedtexan's Weblog

Wrapping Up

Posted on: July 19, 2009

I have reached the finish line for Le Tour de Fleece.  This weekend I spun up the last of my singles, and made my own ghetto version of a lazy kate to make a 3-ply yarn.

IMG_1818

All you need is a shoebox, some empty toilet paper tubes, and some cheap plastic knitting needles!

Here is the resulting yarn:

IMG_1820

  • 110 meters of merino
  • 3-ply
  • approximately 11 WPI
  • spun on my trusty Cascade Shuksan

While I’m not 100% crazy about the color combo, I’m really pleased that I’m starting to get a better feel for a more “balanced” yarn.  My previous attempts have been pretty overspun, but this time around I took special care to check the balance during plying.  The resulting yarn is fairly even and incredibly smooshy. 

Now that I’ve got my spinning out of the way, maybe I can start focusing on my sweater again.  We’ll see how long it lasts.  I’ve already been eyeing my fiber stash, trying to decide what to spin up next.

3 Responses to "Wrapping Up"

How did you like your lazy kate? That looks like a project simple enough for me!

You yarn looks lovely! It’s interesting to see what our ‘natural’ tendancies are … me, on the wheel, I tend to under twist but on the spindle, I did ok ’cause I had more control over the twist and things move slower on a spindle.

Hee – I made my own tensioned kate too. Not pretty, but it’s cheap and does the job quite well.

Congrats on reaching your goal!! 🙂

Happy knitting!!!!

Oooo… shiny…

I LIKE the colorway. What’s wrong with it? It’s cheery.

Leave a Reply

