Twistedtexan's Weblog

Renewal

Posted on: September 27, 2010

We are entering my favorite time of year where we bid farewell to the sweltering, oppressive heat – which I liken to living in an armpit – and start looking forward to window weather.  You know the kind I’m talking about,   those glorious cool breezes that beg for you to  cut off the a/c and throw open your windows. 

This time of the year always signifies a new sort of beginning for me.  Suddenly I’ll have twelve projects in mind that I want to start.  I pick up running again.  I look at the house and want to rearrange/purge the living daylights out of it.  I guess it just shows how much I detest the heat;  It zaps all my energy.  But the minute the temperature starts to drop, I’m like a bunny on speed. 

I’m working on a few projects at the moment.  2 spinning and 3 knitting, and since I can’t really tell you about 2 of the knitting projects I’ll share some spinning.  🙂

This is some luscious optim which was sent to me by the ever-so-lovely J.  I had never seen/felt/tried optim before  so I was really exicted to receive this in the mail.  Optim is a stretched merino which feels like cashmere, spins incredibly fine, and has a shine to it like silk and I am LOVING it so far.

Around the same time I received the optim, I picked up a Kundert spindle from Upstairs Studio and I’m happy to say that it has quickly become one of my favorites.  It spins for-ev-er and is incredibly well balanced.

I have actually spun up quite a bit more than this photo, but I haven’t had a chance to take any updated photos.  Perhaps I will save it for another post later this week.

2 Responses to "Renewal"

And you have hit on the reason that I’ve always seen Fall as the season of beginnings.

Enjoy your fiber fix. It looks fab so far!

I do loves me some optim. Prepare to get more of it as time goes by 😉

Leave a Reply

