Twistedtexan's Weblog

My very first spun-to-finished project

Posted on: September 29, 2010

I’m sad to say that I didn’t have much knitting mojo while I was pregnant.  If I knew then what I know now (re: you-do-not-have-time-to-knit-anymore-you-silly-woman) I would have been knitting like a fiend.  However, toward the very end of my pregnancy I was able to knock out a few projects.  The one I’m sharing today is my very first spun-to-finished object.

This project started out as 4 ounces of Targhee in the Lupine colorway from Mountain Colors.  I spun it up as singles on my trusty Cascade Shuksan and got around 600 yards.

I had this yarn in my stash for quite a while and when Ysolda Teague’s Ishbel pattern hit Ravelry, I knew that it would be a perfect project for the limited amount of yarn I had.

I love how this knit up and I’m sorry I didn’t have just a bit more yarn to increase the size.  One of the downfalls of handspun yarn, you just can’t pop over to your LYS and pick up more if you run out.  The other downfall of handspun yarn, at least in my case, is that I hem and haw about finding the. perfect. project.  As a result, it sort of lingers about in the stash, hoping that SOMEDAY a project will be worthy enough.  So what sort of projects do you reserve for your handspun yarn?  Are you able to get over the sensation of becoming Gollum and calling it your “precious”?  Clearly I still need work on this one.

3 Responses to "My very first spun-to-finished project"

I just finished a Kindle cozy for a good friend out of my first really good handspun from my wheel. Before that, I made two coffee cup cozies out of my first spindle handspun, gave one to a friend. It was a weird amount of yarn, so I had no clue what to do with it.

So I seem to knit things for friends from my handspun.

Okay, so you are inspiring on so many levels. I need to do a self imposed sock club, I need to blog more, I need to spin more…
Quit being so impressive, woman! 😉

I think I commented on this on Ravelry but since I recently finished my first fiber to finished object, I now understand that feeling when the pattern works so well with your own handspun yarn. 🙂

Leave a Reply

