Twistedtexan's Weblog

Let’s get back to knitting, shall we?

Posted on: October 8, 2010

I have a teensy little confession to make.

I have an embarrassing amount of sock yarn.

Yeah, yeah.  I know.  Shocker.  Shut up. 

I’ve been following The Yarn Harlot’s blog and I liked her idea of a self-imposed “Sock-of-the-Month Club”.  Quite often I’ll find myself thinking “Oh, I love this pattern!  I need to knit this, like, yesterday!” and then I’ll forget all about it.  I’ve got a whole different hang-up when it comes to yarn.  For some reason it stays on my shelf because I just haven’t found a pattern that’s worthy enough. 

Um, anyone have Hoarders on speed dial? 

So I think it’s about time I start doing something about my stash.  I love hand-knit socks.  I have a lot of yarn.  I have a lot of patterns.  A + B + C = self-imposed sock-of-the-month club ala Yarn Harlot.  Knitting commences January, 2011. 

My first pattern/yarn pairing is:

J. Knits Superwash Me Sock in New Mexico

The pattern will be embossed leaves (Ravelry link) from the Interweave Knits book, Favorite Socks.

I think I’ll enjoy having a pair of socks that remind me of autumn foliage.  Stay tuned for the second installment!

4 Responses to "Let’s get back to knitting, shall we?"

Good for you! My New Years resolution is to start something similar. I’m waiting until New Years because…well…because I like to procrastinate almost as much as I like to buy sock yarn.

Of course, I should also probably address my stash of worsted-weight yarn bought to knit soakers and longies. But all in due time…right?

self-imposed sock club is a good idea! Lord knows I have more than plenty sock yarn also.

Yay for knitting! 🙂 Looks like a good match for yarn and pattern. Can wait to see! 🙂

Go Texan Go!

I’ll sit here with my bowl of popcorn and watch. 😀

Leave a Reply

