Twistedtexan's Weblog

So, uh, where are the socks?

Posted on: January 18, 2011

Didn’t you say something about 2011 being the year of the “self-imposed-sock-of-the-month-club”?

Why yes, I did!  And guess what, January’s socks have begun.  But before I could start them, I had to finish a pair of special-request socks.

A former co-worker had requested a pair of “bright fricken orange” socks.  Behold the brightness – and my apologies for the quality of this photo.  It was taken with my iPhone.  The socks are currently on my blockers at home and I hope to get some better pictures before sending them off to their recipient.

Notice how the brightness of the orange makes it nearly impossible to visualize the pattern?  It’s like the socks are emitting radiation.  If you look very closely, you’ll see that the pattern is Leyburn (Ravelry link) by MintyFresh.

So over the weekend I started my January socks (again, my apologies for the picture quality.  With a little one at home, it’s kinda hard to do yarn/WIP photo shoots.)

Pattern: Embossed Leaves from Favorite Socks.

Yarn: J. Knits Superwash Me – Sock in the New Mexico colorway. 

So far I am really loving the pattern and the yarn.  I was smitten from the very start with the twisted 1×1 rib.  The stitch definition is great, the colors are very ME, and I think these are going to be a GORGEOUS pair of socks when it’s all said and done.

And just as a small side-note, I’d really hate to be one of the Ravelry folks today with the closing of Remnants.  Now personally, I thought Remnants was a grab-bag full ‘o crazy and stayed far, far away.  But apparently some people are pretty peeved about it going away.  I guess they’ll have to find someplace else to air their dirty laundry.

3 Responses to "So, uh, where are the socks?"

Ooh, I didn’t know about Remants. I never look at the main boards. Going to see the fallout!

You should check the IK site for errata on that sock pattern. Everything I’ve knit from Favorite Socks has had errata. Not sure about that pattern, but I know two others for sure had errors.

Thanks for the heads up! I’m going to check now!

lol re: Remnants. I stayed away as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

