Twistedtexan's Weblog

The projects that killed the sock club

Posted on: March 4, 2011

I’m a little ashamed that I only managed to knit the January socks from my self-imposed-sock-of-the-month club.  Kinda feels like a failed New Year’s resolution.  I’m going to try to not let it get me down, though.  After all, there’s no knitting police.  I’ll knit whatever I damn well please whenever I want.

February was a mad streak of baby knitting in which I made 3 different projects for my girl J’s incubating pintobean.  Can’t share ’em with you though because they’re still a surprise.  I want to properly block the last one and then pack it up for shipping to Aussieland.  I had intended to do it last weekend but SICKAPALOOZA came charging through my house like a rabid beast.  Poor LMT woke up with projectile vomit and insane  “poosplosions” (heh…thanks for that one, J) on Friday.  The poor girl had a really rough weekend and we had a helluva time just keeping her hydrated.  Really scary stuff.  Then on Saturday I woke up with a fever and enough mucus to render me useless.  Fast forward to Monday and LMT develops an ear infection.  We ended up keeping her out of daycare until Thursday.  I’m happy to report that she’s doing MUCH better and is back to normal.  Me on the other hand?  Still full of snot.  Totally delightful. 

I’ve still been knitting despite my house needing one of these posted on the front door:

I, um, sort of “accidentally” ordered a sweater’s worth madelinetosh pashmina from Webs in the nebula colorway.  After winning the bet with the Hubbster I kept thinking about how lovely it would be to have a cardigan made from pashmina – and while I possibly could have eked out a cardi with the 3 skeins I already had, I decided not to chance it and ordered 5 new skeins from Webs.  😉

I’m sorry that (once again) the pictures that follow are from my iPhone.  I don’t have a lot of time on my hands these days (see above: SICKAPALOOZA).

The yarn:

The pattern is Roheline from Twist Collective

The color is more like the yarn photo – definitely more blue-green than forest green. 

I’ve already completed the bottom chart and all of the stockinette decreases.  I’m now working back up to doing the increases in the stockinette portion.  I’ve been alternating between two skeins because of their “handpainted-ness” they vary a lot from skein to skein.  One is lighter with more of the blue-green while the other is darker.  I’m worried that the stockinette portion is starting to look a bit stripey, but I can live with it.  I’d much rather have some subtle stripes than a sudden change of color from light to dark.

So there you have it.  A woman taken down by the loveliness of madelinetosh.  I’ll get back to the socks soon, but for now I’m going to enjoy every second of my tryst with the pashmina.  Just try and stop me.

3 Responses to "The projects that killed the sock club"

Still sticking out my tongue for the pashmina. And, yes, I am the knitting police…..tee hee and you may have to fork over some fab hank of yarn as a fine for not sticking with the sock of the month project….

But wait, I don’t want the SICKAPALOOZA passed on to me so get some fancy stuff to rid it from your self before I see you again…

Glad everyone is on the road to recovery and I can’t wait to see of the tryst was worth it….

Iz a beautiful color – just perfect for you. Can’t wait to see the finished project.

A friend of mine recently finished a cardi in Madelinetosh, and she had a bear of a time trying to keep the color somewhat consistent throughout. Even alternating skeins didn’t help. I wish you better luck.

I am glad that everyone is recovering. This flu stuff is for the birds.

you crack me up ”poosplosions” LOL

nuthin’ wrong with a little yarn ‘accident’. 🙂 Lucky you!!!! Don’t give up on the sock club. Still several months left in 2011

Leave a Reply

