Twistedtexan's Weblog

Crochet fever!

Posted on: May 6, 2011

It seems that everyone around me has crochet fever, and I’m totally blaming KnittyKnurse.  She mentioned that she wanted to learn how to crochet and pointed out this awesome pattern: Realta Afghan (Ravelry link).  The next thing I know I’ve bought 14 different colors of Cascade 220 and have joined a Realta crochet-a-long.  I’m not entirely sure how it all transpired.  There’s just this haze of yarn and then it all goes blank…

So far the project has been really fun.  While I admire the designer’s careful thought and planning that went into her afghan, I know I will go batshit crazy if I attempt to do the same.  So to keep things fun, fresh, and interesting I have adopted the following plan:

  1. Take ball bands of yarn and write the color name on it.
  2. Put ball bands in a bag.
  3. Shake the bag.
  4. Pull out 3 bands and that’s what color the octagon will be.
  5. Lather, rinse, repeat…

Here’s what I’ve got so far.  Keep in mind that it’s a crappy iphone picture and the colors aren’t at all accurate.

Did I forget to mention that this blanket is going to be for LMT?  (Hence all the crazy bright colors…)  My original plan was to make a small afghan that she can use when we convert her crib to a toddler bed (::sniffle:: hopefully we won’t have to do that anytime soon.  Little kidlet is growing way too fast.  But that’s a whole ‘nuther post).  However…my octagons are pretty big (around 8″ unblocked) so I’m going whole hog and will make a ginormous afghan she can use when she gets an official “big girl” bed.  Heh, it’ll probably take me that long to finish this project.  😉

So there you have it!  That’s what I’m working on.  I think it’s pretty safe to say that the sock-a-month club has flown right out the window, and I’m ok with it.  I still have all the yarn/patterns matched up for when I’m ready to get back to knitting socks.  THERE’S NO KNITTING POLICE!  If there was, I would have been arrested long ago.

Right along with KnittyKnurse.

3 Responses to "Crochet fever!"

If there are knitting police, I would be a yarn thug ::throws down knitting gangsta signs with a lace do-rag on my head and a stitch marker between mah teef::

I assure you, I do not have crochet fever.
(Hides amigurumi cat behind chair cushion.)

All I can say is that Peer Pressure has “forced” me to participate in this crazy chrochet afghan road show…..

Leave a Reply

