Twistedtexan's Weblog

The Great Yarn Room Renovation: aka The War on Beige

Posted on: July 6, 2011

This week I’m on vacation, a “mommycation” if you will.  After two failed attempts to take time off earlier in the year, I finally have the time to do so.  LMT has been in daycare, the Hubbster at work, which means I have the house to myself.  (insert fiendish giggles here)  I decided to do something productive with my time off.  Something for me.  After the arrival of LMT, my poor yarn room has become sorely neglected.  I don’t really have the time to go in there and knit, spin, crochet, or just relax.    Nevermind the fact that the room has become a dumping ground for laundry that needs to be folded and other assorted crap.  So I declared war and attacked my room with a vengeance.

Here are the before-and-after photos:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Three of the four walls are grey with the fourth wall a deep purple.  I love the purple wall so hard it’s not even funny.  Gone are the boring beige walls, gone are the piles of laundry, gone are the endless piles of clutter.  I even managed to rearrange the bookcases so that the shelves in the center contain all of my knitting/spinning books, magazines, bobbins, tools, etc… and I also managed to get the yarn that was crammed in the closet out onto the shelves.  This opened up a ton of space in the closet for my ever growing fiber stash.  I feel such an overwhelming sense of accomplishment and pride when I look at my room now.  I can’t wait to spend more time in there!

Next up for “mommycation”… spin up one of my fiber festival batts for the Tour de Fleece!

1 Response to "The Great Yarn Room Renovation: aka The War on Beige"

Yay for doing something for YOU!

Now get spinning!

Leave a Reply

