Twistedtexan's Weblog

Huh. I’m surprised I remembered my password.

Posted on: August 8, 2012

Has it really been a year since I’ve written anything?  Holy crap.  So hey there strangers, long time no see.

Earlier this week I had an incident at work which brought out my extreme rageface.  There’s a gentleman who works on the same floor as me, and on more than one occasion he has brought up the whole “Hey you should give your kid a sibling” thing.  Even after I, very politely, explained that it was difficult for us to have kids and that LMT has completed our family.  In all fairness, I shouldn’t have to explain jack shit, but I figured if I said *something* he would clue-in and drop it.

I figured wrong.

What broke this camel’s back was when he told me that “My unborn son would like to meet his big sister.”

What-the-motherfucking-fuck??

I politely extricated myself from the situation, sat in my office, and tried to keep my composure.  I failed and ended up in tears.  This only managed to make me REALLY ANGRY.  After talking it through with a few of my friends (Hi, y’all!) I decided to send an email.

Subject: Families come in many sizes

Dear DB, (No, I did not call him a douchebag, although it was really tempting)

I am writing you to discuss the comments you made regarding my family this morning.  I know that you did not intend to be hurtful but your comments were, in fact, incredibly hurtful.  I should not have to defend the choices my husband and I have made regarding the size of our family.  Those decisions are incredibly private and I hope that you respect them in the future.  Not everyone is fortunate enough to have children with ease.  Some of us have gone through incredible heartache and hurdles to complete our families.  Just because my daughter is an only child, it does not mean that she is less fortunate than other kids with siblings.  I appreciate the fact you have an opinion on these matters, but given my situation, I do not wish to engage in further conversation regarding my family’s reproductive status.

Respectfully,

twistedtexan

I received an apology later that day, which I didn’t really care about.  Mostly I just want to be able to get myself a cup of coffee without having to defend the choices that I have made regarding the occupancy status of my uterus.

Sorry for spewing all of this out there, but I feel like I just needed to get it out there.  I promise that I will

a) try to start posting again

b) post about fun stuff…like knitting!  and LMT!  and nail polish.

…I have a new addiction to nail polish.  It’s a little frightening.

Hope to see y’all again soon.

tee-squared OUT

Leave a Reply

