Twistedtexan's Weblog

Spot check – take two

Posted on: August 16, 2012

I told you guys I’d get around to posting about knitting again.

So what are you knitting?

Glad you asked.  I’m knitting another pair of spot check socks from Knitting Socks With Handpainted Yarn.  I loved my first pair so much, and I had some truly wackadoodle yarn in my stash that I knew would be perfect for this pattern.

Colinette Jitterbug in “paintbox”.

I also had another skein of Jitterbug in my stash that would fit the bill:

The trouble with Jitterbug, though, is that it bleeds.  A LOT.  So I consulted local yarn dyeing guru YarnLuvinLizzy of Vice Yarns  for tips to get the dye exhausted from the pink skein.  I was worried I would end up felting/wrecking the yarn, but after several (!!!) baths the dye finally let up and isn’t a horrific felted mess.

Today I finished up the first sock.

These are the perfect winter socks.  Nice, thick, and warm.  I’ve worn my other pair so much that they’ve been darned at least a couple of times.  I can’t wait to finish the second sock so I can get started on a super secret project.  My knitting group is doing another Super Secret Santa One Skein Shawl Swap (SSSOSSS) for Christmas this year.  Yesterday we received our partners and their questionnaires, and I’m chomping at the bit to get started.  No spoilers here, though.

 

Leave a Reply

