Twistedtexan's Weblog

Dumbstruck

Posted on: September 11, 2012

September 11, 2001.

I was in college and living in a tiny apartment with my then boyfriend (now husband).  It was early-ish in the morning, before class, and I was on the phone wishing my mom a happy birthday when the planes hit.  I remember both of us just sitting there.  Dumbstruck.

September 11, 2012.

My mom would have been 62 today.  And here I am, sitting at the computer, completely dumbstruck.  I don’t know why, but on her birthday this year I am missing her more than usual.  I miss being able to pick up the phone and talk to her, I hate like hell that despite several lessons with her I will NEVER be able to make her gravy or fried chicken from scratch, and mostly I hate that my daughter will never know her grandmother.

So today I have resigned myself to the fact that I will be a hot mess, but I’ll get through it.  A good friend of mine suggested that I need to have a dose of The Voice to help me cope with the effects of today.  Actually, her prescription reads as follows:

“Take 2 hours of Bladam (Blake  Shelton/Adam Levine) this afternoon and 2 hours of Bladam this evening.  Repeat tomorrow evening.

Warning:  Face-wine can intensify the Bladam effect.  You will be able to see deeper into the bromantic abyss.  Use only if you want stars and hearts in your eyes.  Face-wine and Bladam can also make you hate on Xtina more than normal.”

I think this sounds like a pretty good treatment plan.

Leave a Reply

