Twistedtexan's Weblog

Countdown to FUN!

Posted on: October 3, 2012

In a couple of days I’m hitting the road with a couple of my girlfriends and we’re heading out to the hill country.  I cannot wait!  I haven’t been out of town with them in a couple of years.  Little Miss was still a very little miss the last time I went out of town for a “girls only” weekend.

In the meantime, I’m trying to figure out what yarn/projects to bring along.  I recently started the echo flower shawl but that’s not exactly a “travel” project, as it requires my full attention.

So I think I’m going to wind up some yarn and cast on a hat/mitt duo for the trip.

Oaked hat by Alicia Plummer
Oak Grove mitts by Alana Dakos

I might even be a dutiful sister and wind up the yarn for my brother’s birthday/Christmas socks.  I’m still hunting up a pattern for them, though.  I’m not sure I can stomach another pair of plain, stockinette, size 12 socks. On the other hand, it’s perfect mindless knitting.

But, as a wise woman once told me “You’ll be on vacation.  Knit what makes your heart sing.” and I believe my heart is singing for some mitts and a hat.

Leave a Reply

