Twistedtexan's Weblog

Giving Thanks – Week 4

Posted on: November 23, 2012

Day 23:

I am thankful that we ditched cable TV.  I’m surprised to see how much we don’t miss it.  I certainly don’t miss throwing money at (insert big cable company here) either.

Day 24:

I am thankful for my Nanny and Jitio (maternal grandparents).  They were the glue that held our family together and I still miss them a lot.  The summers spent with them will always remain some of my favorite memories.

Day 25:

I am thankful for my small stature.  I haven’t always been so thankful in the past, but I’ve come to terms with it.  There’s nothing wrong with being 5′ 1″…and it certainly makes knitting go a lot quicker!

Day 26:

I am thankful for my Great Aunt Minnie, who encouraged me to learn how to crochet.

Day 27:

I am thankful that I still have a lot of my mom’s recipes.  Being able to re-create her recipes always makes me feel a bit closer to her.  Sadly, I don’t think I’ll EVER master her homemade gravy or fried chicken.  I think that gene just skipped me over.

Day 28:

I am also thankful that my Nanny and mom taught my brother and I how to cook Syrian food.  Every year (usually around Easter) we cook up a HUGE feast of Syrian dishes and pig out.  I look forward to passing the tradition along to my nephews and LMT.

Day 29:

I am thankful for the Foo Fighters.  ‘Nuff said.

Day 30:

I am thankful to have been able to share my life with all of you for the past 5 (!!!) years.  I think it may be time for me to close up shop.  With life being so hectic, especially now that I’m a mom, I find it harder to open up time to keep this blog rolling.  Then I start feeling guilty because I haven’t written anything.   Which, when you think about it, is pretty silly.  😉  I’m not 100% sold on the idea of leaving the blog forever, but I am giving myself permission to step away for a while.  You can still find me on a bazillion other social-networking sites (FB, Twitter, Instagram) and of course you can still find me on Ravelry.  Hope to see all of you around sometime…

Wishing you all the best,

twistedtexan

Leave a Reply

